Formula E season two teams announced, Championship begins in Beijing on October

The Formula E championship coordinators have formally issued the list of group names to contend in season two of the series which will start this October 17 in Beijing.

Formula E cars drive into a corner during the Formula E Championship race in Beijing September 13, 2014. The inaugural Formula E Championship, which according to its organisers is the world's first fully electric racing series, will be contested by 10 two-driver teams over 10 rounds. REUTERS/Barry Huang (CHINA - Tags: SPORT MOTORSPORT SCIENCE TECHNOLOGY) - RTR462K9
Formula E cars drive into a corner during the Formula E Championship race in Beijing September 13, 2014.

As expected, the same ten teams are entered with a slight variety in group names, for example, e.DAMS Renault getting to be Renault e.DAMS.

The group once in the past known as Audi ABT now gets to be ABT Schaeffler Audi Sport in concession to the German technology and engineering pro.

There won’t be an eleventh group in season two  as per press release.

The likelihood of the same element being conceded a space for season three in 2016/17 is thought to still be in cutting edge examinations between the title coordinators Formula E Holdings Ltd and delegates from the current groups.

The official testing for season two gets in progress on August 10 and goes through until August 25.

2014/2015 FIA Formula E Championship. London e-Prix, Battersea Park, London, UK. Saturday 27 June 2015.
2014/2015 FIA Formula E Championship.

The eight “manufacturer” groups have been designated 15 days of testing. The main group known not finished the majority of its 15 days testing so far is the DS Virgin group.

Renault eDAMS, Audi Abt, Venturi, NEXTEV and Mahindra have also made public its testing. Dragon Racing has undertaken just a few days with the Venturi car, which ran with the powertrain that will be supplied to the American squad. As a manufacturer that is supply another team, Venturi is entitled to five extra test days.

The newly named Team Aguri (nee Amlin Aguri) is currently the only squad that will run with the original season one Spark/McLaren/Hewland package. It is unclear as to if the Trulli Formula E team has track tested its new technology. The outfit has been the quietest of the ten during the ‘off season’ so far. understands that once the homologation documents have been approved the manufacturer teams are obliged to run them and are unable to revert back to season one technology.

Monaco GP – 2015

However, force majeure clauses are believed to exist that could see any chronically unreliable powertrains ‘rest’.

Team names for season two:

  1. ABT Schaeffler Audi Sport
  2. Andretti Formula E Team
  3. Dragon Racing
  4. DS Virgin Racing Formula E Team
  5. Mahindra Racing Formula E Team
  6. NEXTEV TCR Formula E Team
  7. Renault e.Dams
  8. Team Aguri
  9. Trulli Formula E Team
  10. Venturi Formula E Team
About Admin 1764 Articles