Australian horseracing: The country’s best racetracks

One of the biggest spectator sports in Australia, thoroughbred horse racing events occur throughout the year all over the country. More than 3000 races take place during the horse racing calendar, which has some of the richest races in the world such as the Melbourne Cup in Melbourne and The Everest in Sydney. Due to this great love of the sport, Australia features some incredible racecourses.

Moonee Valley Racecourse, Melbourne

William Samuel Cox opened this racecourse in 1883 and has the W.S. Cox Plate as one of the main events there. It was first raced in 1922 and was won by Tangalooma. The racecourse was originally farmland and over time has been converted to be one of the most popular racecourses in Victoria. Many champion thoroughbreds have raced there over the years including Kingston Town, Rising Fast, Makybe Diva, Winx, and Phar Lap.

Caulfield Racecourse, Melbourne

First opened in 1859, this turf track has a circumference of 2.08 kilometers and is known locally as ‘The Heath’ due to what it was like when races were first held. The course was covered in heath, bush, and sandhills. It is home to the Caulfield Cup which is one of the biggest horse races in Australia, with a current total prize purse of $5,000,000AUD.

Morphettville Racecourse, Adelaide

Opened in January 1876, Morphettville Racecourse is one of the main racecourses in South Australia. It is located about 10 kilometers from the capital city of Adelaide. It is home to four Group 1 races which are the Australasian Oaks, The Goodwood, the Robert Sangster Stakes, and the South Australian Derby. So any Morphettville race tips you can get are important if you want to take a punt. The main course has a circumference of 2307 meters, while the secondary track, known as ‘The Parks’ opened in 2009 and has a circumference of 2100 meters.

Eagle Farm Racecourse, Brisbane

Eagle Farm racecourse is a heritage-listed site that was opened in 1863. It is one of the main racecourses in Brisbane. The track has a circumference of 2,027 meters with the home straight being 434 meters. It is home to many famous Group 1 races including the TJ Smith, The Queensland Oaks, and the Queensland Derby.

Royal Randwick Racecourse, Sydney

This racecourse is home to the richest turf race in the world, the Everest, which has a total prize purse of $15,000,000AUD. The course itself is 2224 meters in circumference and was inaugurated in 1833. One of the main events is The Championships which is a two-day event that consists of several Group 1 races including the Queen Elizabeth Stakes, the Doncaster Handicap, and the Australian Derby. The racecourse was originally just called the Randwick Racecourse but was changed in 1992 to the Royal Randwick Racecourse after the venue received permission from Queen Elizabeth II after she visited the course.

Flemington Racecourse, Melbourne Flemington Racecourse in Melbourne is home to the esteemed Melbourne Cup which is held in November during the Melbourne Cup Spring Carnival. Other major races that occur at the course are the Victoria Derby, the VRC Oaks, and the Mackinnon Stakes. The track, which was opened in 1840 is turf and has a circumference of 2.312 kilometers (1.437 miles). The shape of the track is roughly pear-shaped and has a straight of 1,200 meters.

About Admin 1764 Articles